Healthy Coffee otherwise known as Bulletproof Coffee

I will share with you one of my best finds in the past year, bulletproof coffee.  If your interested the actual mixture for it can be found here.

I heard about a variation of the mixture that’s a bit more sensible on the wallet and considering how often we drink coffee (daily, usually more than once) easier to replace.  My husbands family actually shared this with me (they seem to have good taste right?) and I’ll admit I was skeptical at first.  Butter in my coffee? Gross! Oh and add oil to it?  Yeah, I’m sure that’s healthy to start your morning off.

So what exactly goes into this new fad coffee?  Grass fed unsalted butter.  It has to be grass fed to get the health benefits intended for bulletproof coffee. The only brand I have heard of is  Kerrygold.  You need 1TBSP. of butter per cup of coffee.

Then you add coconut oil.  I buy organic, but nothing I have read has said it has to be organic.  You add 1 tsp. of coconut oil. 

image

Now you blend.  I use a handheld stick blender, portable and easy to clean afterwards but I’ve heard of people using a blender.

What is created is a creamy froth on top, that most people equate to a creamer and just drink it straight. 

I can’t seem to break old habits so I still add a dash of creamer to mine.  I did cut out using sugar in my morning coffee.

image

End product – delish! 

The health claims that bulletproof coffee are supposed to provide:

-Feeling full.  Originally this was supposed to replace a breakfast.  The high fat content was supposed to make a person satiated.  I’ve always ate a healthy breakfast afterwards so I’m not sure if it works.

-Mental sharpness. 

-Increased heart health.

I won’t agree or disagree with these statements but I will provide you with why they might be true.

Grass Fed Butter

The reason it has to be this specific type of butter is because it provides good doses of vitamin k2.  This actually helps declog arteries, which provides better heart health.

It also provides a type of antioxidant and cancer fighting property. (1). Although this article mentions grass fed beef, I would assume there is hardly any variance with their milk. 

The only problem is there’s nothing that states what a good dosage on a daily basis is.  I’m sure like everything else, even too much of a good thing can be bad. 

Coconut oil

Coconut oil has MCT better know as medium chain triglycerides.  In comparison to long chain triglycerides, which are found in fast foods, margarine and meats such as pork, lamb and beef, MCT’s increase metabolism and again prevent heart disease. (2, 3).

So weight loss, increased heart health and mental sharpness?  Even if its not all entirely true, the placebo effect has its grasps on me and I’m buying in.  We won’t know any benefits until someone does a controlled study on bulletproof coffee, but if I can feel justified in my daily addiction I’ll continue on. 

What are your thoughts on bulletproof coffee?  Has anyone actually had their cholesterol measured since starting drinking this coffee? I’m curious to know!!

Leave a Reply

