Baked Mozzarella Sticks

image

Who doesn’t love mozzarella sticks?  I’m pretty sure 9/10 people would raise their hand.  In my quest to fulfill my need for them I ran across a healthy alternative. What’s better than how healthy they are is how quick and easy it is to make them!  Seriously 3 ingredients (if you count the water for basting)?!  

1. Wonton wrapper
2. Mozzarella string cheese sticks
3. Water

Start by preheating your oven to 400°.  {Hint:  I have a gas oven, so I generally turn mine down about 15-25° from whatever a recipe recommends}.

Next cut your mozzarella string cheese sticks in half. {My 5 year old does this with a butter knife}.

Lay your wonton wrappers on a dry surface and place a mozzarella stick perpendicular on a corner.  Then roll until you have  approximately a couple inches left.  Using a basting brush, brush some water onto the corner then finish rolling.

Place on your greased baking sheet.  When you have all of those delicious cheese sticks rolled, I usually brush them with water to help them crisp up. {No worries if you don’t.  I’ve forgotten a few times and they turn out just as delectable}

Slide them into the preheated oven and set your timer for 10 minutes. 

Remember patience is a virtue

Enjoy!! 🙂

I can eat them plain, but my husband loves them with marinara sauce or even spaghetti sauce.

Please let me know what you guys think!  Any different sauce options??

Credits to AverieCooks

Leave a Reply

